Key Stage 3

One key stage at a time The Secondary School at Brook Hill is divided into three main groups: Key Stage 3, 4 and 5   Learn more Check point exams Checkpoints exams are taken by students between the ages of 11 and 14 years old.

Pupils are placed into Year 7, 8 and 9. At the end of Year 9 they have external Cambridge exams from three core subjects: English, Mathematics, and Science. This is known as Cambridge Checkpoint and pupils receive certificates with their grades.   Students at this level also study History, Geography, a Modern Language (French, German, Italian or Spanish), Chinese, Computers, Arts and Sports.

IGCSE or Key Stage 4

IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) period, is for pupils between the ages of 15 and 16 years old (Year 10 and Year 11) It is a two year course and students take an external Cambridge exams at the end of Year 11. 

AS (Advanced subsidiary) and A (Advanced) level or Key Stage 5

Students between the ages of 17 and 18 years old are placed in Year 12 and Year 13, and take exams at the end of both years.

At any stage, students have the opportunity to choose between several options:
  • Additional English (EAL)
  • Intensive English
  • Serbian basic language or Serbian Language History and Culture

Brook Hill International Upper Secondary
© Copyright Maja Lipovac